Fef0cb10 A4fc 49d1 A496 1bab62ea16d3


A 16 – member committee forming the Ahafo Regional Coordinating Council(AhRCC) have been inaugurated at Goaso the regional capital to assist guide the region towards the realization of its development objectives.

The members who were sworn – in include ; Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie(Regional Minister), Hon. Benjamin Yeboah Sekyere(Deputy Minister), Barima Twereko Ampem II and Nana Ansah Adu Baah II(Council of Chiefs), Anthony Mensah(Asutifi North DCE), Robert Dwomoh Mensah(Asutifi South DCE), Yaw Osei Boahene(Asunafo North MCE), Osei Bonsu Senior(Asunafo South DCE), Ernest Kwarteng(Tano North MCE), Collins Takyi Offinam(Tano South DCE). The rest of the members who are Presiding Members(PMs) of the sic assemblies are Jones Afriyie Anto, Oppong Berko, Asare Antwi, Adom Agyei Kenneth with Asunafo South and Asutifi North with no PMs.

Addressing the media after the inaugural ceremony where COVID-19 protocols were observed, the Regional Minister who is the Chairman of AhRCC, Hon. Evans Opoku Bobie passionately urged the members of both AhRCC and Sub – Committees such as the tender and audit to bring their experiences on board to develop the region.

According to the Regional Minister, the key reason for the President of the Republic, His Excellency Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo – Addo to championed for Ahafo to be named as a region which has come to pass kind courtesy the residents who voted massively on 27th December, 2018 tagged as referendum is to ensure that development and governance are brought to the doorsteps of the people so the members can not afford to fail them.

He expressed that for them to be named as members of RCC and Sub – Committees means they are complete leaders whose mandate is to ensure that living conditions of the residents are improved as expected. He continued to say the members have adequate working experiences to help the young region develop in all sectors so they must be exhibited.

” Help tackle the challenges of Ahafo Region to achieve our which is development ” the Regional Minister said.

Hon. Bobie who is again the Member of Parliament(MP) for Asunafo North Constituency prompted them that the  positions they have been assigned to need enough dedication because as a leader you are to have time for the people you serve. The act of dedication and serving brings development so all must take note and work in accordance.

Touching on unity, the Chairman of AhRCC explained, members must resolute and work as a team for achievement now that they have been outdoored as leaders managing and steering the affairs of the region which has seen little in terms of development.

The Regional Minister who dedicated the inaugural ceremony to the country’s President due to the love he has for the chiefs and people of Ahafo urged the residents to also play their roles to help development at their respective assemblies just like the passion and dedication showcased when the creation of the region was needed. He mentioned that only collective ideas and efforts can help the region develop therefore all must be on board irrespective of educational and political backgrounds.

The swearng – in of member of the AhRCC became necessary due to the fact that now Ahafo Region is a new entity and thus replaces the Brong Ahafo Regional Coordinating Council which consisted of Bono, Bono East and Ahafo.

The exercise had a legal backing of Article 255 of the 1992 Constitution and Article 186 of the Local Governance Act 2019( Act 936 as amended).

The 2018 referendum in the region recorded the highest percentage(90.41) turnout where 277,663 out of 307,





Sammy Asare, Ahafo Goaso

Leave a Comment